Project October Writing Journal – Part 6

Standard

Day 12

Because I’m ahead of where I intended to be in the word count, it made me lazy today. I knew I could get away with not writing, I didn’t really want to write and so I didn’t (not until half past nine at night). I did some more housework, I watched a trashy TV movie that made me really glad I’m not a teenager anymore (although compared to the fictional ones I was watching, I was a perfect angel), played some games on the computer, napped and did some laundry.

The whole premise of Project October is to write everyday but it can become monotonous. I suppose if I end up with 30,000 words at the end of it, I’ll still have achieved the goal but does it make it less meaningful if I don’t write on some days? I don’t think so. The trap, of course, is that I start thinking, “Oh, I don’t have to write every day, I’m still on target.” But eventually I will reach a point where I’m no longer on target and I will have to write all day, every day to get back and stay there. So I would have been better off just writing every day and not overanalysing it.

I ended up writing a little because where I left off yesterday I was very close to finishing the last chapter of part two and tonight I finished it. It’s a massive accomplishment, I think, despite all the whining I did above because I’ve been stuck in part two of this novel for nearly a year.

It’s amazing what I can accomplish when I actually try. Avoiding it doesn’t help. And maybe I’d sleep better if I didn’t leave it to write so late. Do as I say, not as I do. I should take my own advice.

Today’s Word Count: 420

Ongoing Tally: 14,204

 

Day 13

I was supposed to meet with my job agency today but they called first thing to reschedule so instead I went to my local member of parliament’s office and stuck magnets onto the back of emergency phone number flyers for all his constituents to hang on their refrigerators. It was very repetitive but it wasn’t writing so I welcomed the break. The funny thing is that everyone else who was volunteering their time to do the same thing, as well as some of the staffers, seemed to enjoy the break from their normal working lives, too. I think that no matter what your job is, no matter how much you enjoy it, nobody can do the same thing all the time. The human brain just isn’t wired that way. We need variety. It’s good to know I’m not the only one.

Yesterday I finished writing part two and today I started writing part three. I already had the first paragraph because I wrote it ages ago, at least a year ago I think. But I’m not sure I’m ready to move into the mindset of this other character yet. I haven’t given him enough thought – or actually any thought at all. So now when I sit down to write him, I don’t know what to write.

I also have to do some reviewing of parts one and two to know what he does. I have to make sure there’s consistency – if he has a conversation in part one, then I need him to have or at least reflect on that same conversation in part three.

I wrote less than two hundred words today and I’m not really happy with any of them. I need to be very careful writing part three because the character from whose viewpoint this section is told interacts with only one other character and often he is stalking her, watching her from a distance, not talking at all. If I’m not careful, this section could end up being very prose heavy and thus very difficult to both read and write.

Today’s Word Count: 198

Ongoing Tally: 14,402

 

Leave a Reply

