Project October Writing Journal – Part 3

Standard

Day 5

Spent the day with my little sister and didn’t get a chance to write. Part of my choice not to marry and have children was because I thought it would give me more time to write but as much as writers like to complain about the isolation, sometimes there just isn’t enough isolation in the world. My “little” sister is nineteen now and with the nineteen year age gap between us, we are often mistaken for mother and daughter despite the fact that we look nothing alike. So good for the childless woman’s ego. Not!

It was George Bernard Shaw who said, “The true artist will let his wife starve, his children go barefoot, his mother drudge for a living at seventy, sooner than work at anything but his art.” I guess that means I’m not a true artist. But I’ve always been practical. I have to pay the bills. And I’m part of a huge family with more sisters, stepbrothers, stepsisters, aunts, uncles and cousins than I count. Stepping away from that is not something I can do, at least not any more than I already have without inviting disapproval – my own most of all.

So there will be more writing free days, although hopefully not too many more during this Project October. Without any contribution to the ongoing tally today, I’m already over 2,000 words behind. I’ll try to make up some of that tomorrow.

Today’s Word Count: 0

Ongoing Tally: 3,905

 

Day 6

Every day before I start writing (on the days I do write), I open up this writing journal and type out a few words, words that I don’t have to think about all that much. It’s like warming up the muscles before exercise. Sometimes when I try to write cold, I just sit there like my fingers won’t work. But I’m finding that one of the benefits of this writing journal exercise is that I’m releasing all the blah, blah, blah that can sometimes work its way into my novels and then I’m ready to get down to business with words of quality when I move onto the novel. Just goes to show I shouldn’t have been so quick to dismiss the usefulness of a writing journal.

I blasted past the daily target today (past three daily targets, in fact) and I think there are two reasons why. The first is because I was determined to make up for the two big fat zeroes I had already accumulated in the first week of this Project October. And the second is that I reached an exciting point in the novel and I was so happy to finally be writing that chapter that the words just flowed. Yippee!

Today’s Word Count: 3,391

Ongoing Tally: 7,296

 

Leave a Reply

