Project October Writing Journal – Part 2

Standard

Day 3

Daylight savings finished this morning. I thought that might mean an extra hour of writing. I fed the cats at half past eight and went back to bed to watch a movie on my laptop. I fell asleep and didn’t wake up until two o’clock when my sister texted asking if I wanted to do something. I really didn’t. I’m a homebody. I like being at home. I told her she could come over if she wanted. She didn’t.

Despite my delayed start, the writing has gone well. I eventually just sat down and started typing even though I had no idea what I was going to write. I revised what I wrote on Day 1 and it helped get me into it. So much of this book has been written through simply sitting down and writing without much idea of what was going to come out on the page. It’s such a pleasant way to create. It feels less like hard work.

Even though I love to research and learn new things, sometimes when I do research for a book, it makes me feel like there are jigsaw puzzle pieces all on the floor and I have to figure out how they fit together. When I just write without researching anything, often the puzzle pieces just slide into place without any effort and it’s only afterwards I realise how perfectly it all works together even though I wasn’t really trying.

Today’s Word Count: 1,198

Ongoing Tally: 3,038

 

Day 4

Reading over the previously written chapter is a great way to immerse myself back into whatever it is I’m writing. Where I left off yesterday, I knew I had another paragraph or two to complete the chapter before moving onto the next one. I stopped writing because I didn’t know what those last two paragraphs were going to be. I still don’t. So I’m reading what I’ve written.

I did a writing exercise last week for a potential employer to assess my writing skills and the recruiter who arranged it asked me, “Did you have fun doing it?” It made me realise that I don’t find writing fun. At least not while I’m doing it. I’m good at it, it’s what I want to do but while I’m doing it, I am serious and focused and tunnel-visioned and sometimes even stressed. Later on, reading back over what I’ve written, then it can be fun – perhaps the more appropriate word is “enjoyable” – but, God, writing is such hard work. Everyone thinks they can do it but so few can do it well.

I wonder if anyone ever asked Einstein if he thought the Theory of Relativity was fun. I suppose what that recruiter didn’t understand is that any writing that isn’t my writing (my novels, my blog posts, my articles) generally isn’t fun. That’s why I’m aiming to be paid for the writing I want to do. In the meantime, I still have to earn an income. I don’t have to find it fun to be able to do it well.

Today’s Word Count: 867

Ongoing Tally: 3,905

 

Leave a Reply

