200 Thank Yous On The Occasion Of My 200th Blog Post

Standard

Thank you to my sister Liz Holmes-Truscott (1), the soon to be Dr Mrs Elizabeth Mawson, for letting me pick your brain about blogging (read Sewn by Elizabeth here), reading the first draft of Black Spot and providing important feedback, such as to remove “Louise” words.

Thank you to my sister Natalie Campbell (2), the former Natalie Truscott, for reading the first draft of Black Spot and providing important feedback, such as to remove the peeing scene.

Thank you to my dad, Alan Truscott (3), for trying to read my first novel, Enemies Closer, even though you fall asleep when you try to read anything, even the newspaper.

Thank you to my mum, Jill Davey (4), for believing that I was always meant to be a writer and telling me not to be afraid when I was contacted by a commissioning fiction editor and started to worry I wasn’t ready for whatever it was that was about to happen.

Thank you to my stepmother, Patricia Truscott (5), for reading Enemies Closer in its entirety on a laptop because I only released it as an ebook.

Thank you to my nan, Elizabeth Harrison (6), and my pa, Alfred Harrison (7), for trusting me with the story of how you got pregnant after you were engaged but before you were married in 1947 when it was something to be ashamed of, even though my Writing History tutor suggested I was “too removed from the subject matter” when I submitted it as my major assessment piece.

Thank you to Jane Gao (8), also known as Jie Gao, for letting me steal your name for the first character to appear in Enemies Closer and translating dialogue into Mandarin in the same novel.

Thank you to Reece Agland (9) for reading early drafts of early chapters of Enemies Closer and providing advice when I was worried my main male character who wasn’t supposed to be gay sounded like he was.

Thank you to Jessica Vigar (10) for reading Enemies Closer (even though you keep mistaking entirely fictional scenes in it for real moments of my own history), for creating the book cover for Enemies Closer, for suggesting I should write a young adult/mainstream crossover series to take advantage of the appetite for them, for reading the first draft of the resulting novel, Black Spot, and providing important feedback, for being my unofficial manager (which will be official and paid one day) and for celebrating all my small achievements with me.

Thank you to Kelli Teitzel (11), a former manuscript assessor, for reading the first draft of Black Spot and providing professional feedback for free, even though you didn’t know me except as the writer of whatever it was Jessica Vigar kept reading during lunch breaks at ARB.

Thank you to Kate Roberts (12) for reading Enemies Closer within a week of its release and telling me you couldn’t wait for the sequel (and sorry that it’s over three and a half years later without a sequel in sight).

Thank you to Tara Moss (13) for liking my 5 star review of The Fictional Woman and inspiring with that book the idea for what I hope will be the book I will be remembered for if I ever get around to writing it.

Thank you to Kasey Edwards (14) for writing a book that made me rethink my career and then thanking me on Twitter when I recommended it as one of three books every woman in their thirties should read.

Thank you to Clementine Ford (15) for writing articles that I wish I could write and thank you to Daily Life (16) for publishing them.

Thank you to LinkedIn (17) for providing a platform for me to publish articles and promoting one of them so it got over 9,000 views and nearly 650 likes.

Thank you to WordPress (18) for making blogging so easy and providing a platform for me to do it.

Thank you to my blog followers – K.L. Register (19), cloudedthinker (20), John White (21), darkyblue (22), skeletonwithaspade (23), Rohan (24), Nicholas Gagnier (25), denniscardiff (26), Luke Otley (27), Elan Mudrow (28), kellyteitzel again (29), kaisywmills (30), Kendall F. Person (31), kelzbelzphotography (32), the alchemist (33), Man of many thoughts (34), Book Guy Reviews (35), Alysha Kaye (36), Kurt Brindley (37), Magdalena (38), deepthinker321 (39), Josbons (40), Timothy Pike (41), Dr. Joseph Suglia (42), Ben Broenen (43 and 44 because he seems to be following me twice), bribruceproductions (45), takingthemaskoff (46), gradypbrown (47), Meghan Miramontes (48), Once Upon a Book (49), Jack Binding (50), wlloydjr (51), M. Talmage Moorehead (52), Stuart M. Perkins (53), brittanymariereads (54), dcpassion2009 (55), Cristian Mihai (56), Q’s Book Blog (57), arganise (58), Libby Cole Author (59), writingblissfully (60), Michelle Kim (61), jbsnow (62), Joe Warnimont (63), Reece Agland (64), Ana Spoke (65), pbbpb (66), Marc-André (67), tracycembor (68), JenAcideByBibliophile (69), Jezabel Jonson (70), Valancy (71), DirtySciFiBuddha (72), violaswift (73), The Farrago Post (74), Crime Time Podcast (75), natalieslovelyblog (76), sophiawhite (77), nuggettales (78), Barnaby Taylor (79), 0000beheadallsatans6 (80), The Historical Diaries (81), A (82), deathofrelatitytv (83), saracroethle (84), theaudiojournalist (85), Soren (86), criticaldispatches (87), Short Tale Shrew (88), Austin Wiggins (89), samanthajaithereader (90), Abbie Lu (91), sunnysleevez (92), Justin Clarke (93), shewritesoflife (94), Morgan Bradham (95), Hayden Coombs (96), SBolithoe (97), Julia (98), patrickwmarshauthor (99), Byford’s Books (100), amylubooks (1010), Laissez Faire (102), hayleybreean (103), Andrew Toy (104), tvfestival (105), aManNotAtHisBest (106), brontespageturners (107), Mary (108), chloebooksblog (109), 1stscenescreenplay (110), leahsamantha (111), timehonoredclassicalliteratureandmusings (112), StoriesforSophie (113), Philip Elliot (114), Bee Ordiway (115), David Snape (116), tstonelonergan (117), darklandpoetry (118) and anthonymize (119).

Thank you to Jeffrey Archer (120), Patricia Cornwell (121), Francine Pascal (122), Mo Hayder (123), Matthew Reilly (124), Stephen J Cannell (125), John Birmingham (126), Michael Connelly (127), Jack Kerley (128), Jane Curry (129) and Minette Walters (130) for writing books I read during my formative writing years. (Although, do we ever really bid goodbye to formative writing years? I think I’ll be forever forming.)

Thank you to Matthew Klein (131), Edward Monkton (132), Lionel Shriver (133), Yann Martel (134), Stieg Larsson (135) and Max Barry (136) for writing books that blew my mind.

Thank you to JD Salinger (137), Peter Carey (138), Samantha Shannon (139), Bret Easton Ellis (140) and Hugh Howey (141) for writing books I hated (not Wool, Silo and Dust, Hugh, the other one, you know it, the one that pretended to be about the environment but instead turned out to be a really bad romance).

Thank you to Gordon Cleary (142) who taught me proper English in grades 3, 4 and 5 and thank you to Anne Calvert (143) who taught me how to use that proper English to edit professionally while at Holmesglen TAFE.

Thank you to Glenice Whitting (144) for letting me practise my editing on what would go on to be your debut novel, Pickle to Pie.

Thank you to Mrs Tuck (145), Sister Ellen (146), Mrs Driscoll (147), Mrs Rosewarne (148) and Mr Norman (149) for teaching me high school English and despite your best efforts at making it extremely tedious not being able to dull my enthusiasm for reading and writing.

Thank you to Alan Wearne (150) and Kristin Henry (151) for teaching me poetry at Holmesglen TAFE.

Thank you to Ray Mooney (152) and Jennifer Dabbs (153) for teaching me novel at Holmesglen TAFE.

Thank you to Josie Arnold (154), Laurent Boulanger (155) and Carolyn Beasley (156) for lecturing and tutoring me in the Master of Arts (Writing) program at Swinburne University.

Thank you to Swinburne University (157) for offering an online master’s program back in 2004 when I wanted to study but also had to work full time.

Thank you to Joss Whedon (158), Aaron Sorkin (159) and James Cameron (160) for being first and foremost writing geniuses but not being constrained by it.

Thank you to Lynne Truss (161) for writing Eats, Shoots and Leaves and giving it the best blurb ever as well as making me realise I wasn’t alone in wanting perfection in spelling, punctuation and grammar.

Thank you to Samuel Johnson (162) for writing the first dictionary because it’s still my favourite book ever.

Thank you to Amazon (163) and Smashwords (164) for enabling me to self-publish my debut novel.

Thank you to Emma Darcy (165), Alison Fraser (166), Miranda Lee (167), Carole Mortimer (168) and Sally Wentworth (169) for writing Mills & Boon books that didn’t read like every other Mills & Boon book I’d read (and I’d read plenty).

Thank you a second time to Emma Darcy (170) for writing The Secrets of Successful Romance Writing and telling me it was okay not to write sex scenes (which I am truly terrible at).

Thank you a third time to Emma Darcy (171) for successfully transitioning to writing crime after being so successful at writing romance and giving hope to all of us who don’t want to be pigeonholed as only writing one genre.

Thank you to the unknown person (172) who gave Enemies Closer a 5 star rating on iBooks and said it was worth a read.

Thank you to the person I won’t name (173) who gave Enemies Closer a 1 star rating on Goodreads without saying why; it’s good for my humility and keeps me wondering.

Thanks again to Jessica Vigar (174) who upon hearing the news of my 1 star rating on Goodreads logged in and gave it a 5 star rating to even things out.

Thank you to the Ampersand Project (175), which – although I didn’t win – gave me my biggest OMG moment when one of the judges, who was also a commissioning fiction editor, emailed to say she thought Black Spot was terrifically well written.

Thank you to that commissioning fiction editor (176) who I can’t name because I promised I’d keep her communications confidential (a half-kept promise, I guess).

Thank you to all the filmmakers (177) who adapt books into movies.

Thank you to Writers Victoria (178) and the Australian Society of Authors (179) for accepting me as a member and providing interesting and informative insights into the professional writing world.

Thank you to Stella Young (180 – RIP), Waleed Aly (181), Raphael Epstein (182) and Clementine Ford again (183) for being intelligent and dedicated to change for the better while being challenged by stupid, racist, sexist people long on passion but short on logic well after people like me can no longer be bothered with the confrontations, the agitations, the frustrations and the fury.

Thank you to Tracy Cembor again (184) for asking me to review her novella, Gaslight Carnival, and exposing me to the steampunk genre, which I’d never read before.

Thank you to my cats, Kiwi (185), Jock (186) and Mia (187),  for understanding when I ignore you while I write and reminding me at least twice a day that I have to take a break because you want your breakfast and dinner.

Thank you to Cadbury (188) for making the world’s best chocolate, an essential tool for writers (and women in general).

Thank you to the Red Cross Blood Service (189) for making me feel so special when I donate blood, especially because being a financially challenged writer I can’t give monetary donations to all those charities who constantly call me and that I no longer answer the phone for.

Thank you to Microsoft (190) for developing Word and making it difficult enough for most people to master but logical enough for me to be the Word expert in every job I’ve ever had. And thank you to Microsoft again (191) for being the blank page that stares back at me every time I start a new writing project.

Thank you to Goodreads (192) for giving me a platform to publish my book reviews.

Thank you to Twitter (193) for sticking to the 140 characters limit because anything worth saying should be short and sweet.

Thank you to lol cats (194) and Salon.com (195) and The Age online (196) and news.com.au (197) and ABC online (198) and Google (199) for informing, amusing, refreshing and distracting me when I’m bored, curious, frustrated or suffering from writer’s block.

And lastly, thank you to you (200) if you’re still reading this because I can’t imagine too many people would have read through to the very end (after all, if it was an Oscar’s speech, the orchestra would have started playing over the top of me a long time ago). You and the fact that you read are the reason I get to keep doing this.

Leave a Reply

