Book Review: The Rosie Project & The Rosie Effect by Graeme Simsion

Standard

The Rosie Project

I resisted reading this book for as long as I could because I didn’t want to get caught up in all the hype. Now that I’ve read it I have divided feelings about the hype – some of it is justified, some of it isn’t.

The book is well written, the characters are interesting and I read it in a couple of days (always a good sign) but towards the end it really started to verge on stereotypical romance. I may have gone into reading this not forewarned enough (i.e. I didn’t realise it was a romantic comedy, I thought it was going to be a bit more literary, especially since it was published by a company like Text Publishing). Having said that, I can honestly see it making a terrific romantic comedy movie.

If you’re like me, this book is well worth a read but it won’t be the life-changing literary experience some people seem to have had with it.

In any event, I liked it well enough to start reading the sequel, The Rosie Effect, straight away (although probably only because I bought both at the same time – if it hadn’t already been on my bed side table, I probably would have waited a few months to go out and buy it).

3 stars

*First published 21 December 2014 on Goodreads

The Rosie Effect

I know there seems to be a fervent positive response to these Rosie books but I haven’t been able to get on the bandwagon. The Rosie Effect (just like The Rosie Project) harks back to early screwball comedies but it is so contrived that I didn’t find it funny, just laughable.

None of the characters are even remotely likeable and if there is another Rosie book, I won’t be reading it. I’ve been sucked in twice now. I suspect I’m in the minority on this one but I will say that if Graeme Simsion writes anything new with different characters, I might give it go because he at least makes his work an easy read.

2 stars

*First published on 20 March 2015 on Goodreads

Leave a Reply

