Book Review: Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

Standard

Considering all the hullabaloo out there about this book, I couldn’t wait to read it to see if it lived up to the hype. The verdict? Sort of.

Gone Girl is beautifully written, so much so that you want to keep reading and know what happened even though none of the people in the book are even remotely likeable. It is beautifully plotted and perfectly paced and I’m fully prepared to read more Gillian Flynn based on this book.

But I have to admit that the ending left me unsatisfied. In fact, I turned the page expecting another chapter. But no. I think because it was so well written that I was expecting a Life of Pi sort of twist that would leave me ruminating for days. Instead it just left me.

Don’t read this book thinking it is a typical crime novel that will tie all the loose ends up neatly and give the bad guys what they deserve. It is very much an atypical crime novel, very literary, with a collection of characters you hope you will never meet in real life, and an ending that is unsettling and a little bit scary.

3 stars

*First published on Goodreads 8 April 2013

One thought on “Book Review: Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

Leave a Reply

